Sehwag dropped from India squad for remaining Tests against Australia

Virender SehwagAs expected, out of form opener Virender Sehwag failed to retain his place in the Indian Test team for the remaining two Tests against Australia.

However, off-spinner Harbhajan Singh was spared the axe despite having poor bowling performances in the first two Tests.

Even though India registered commanding victories in the first two Tests against Australia in Chennai and Hyderabad, the opening partnership between Sehwag and Murali Vijay could produce only 11, 16 and 17 runs. While Vijay scored a fine 167 in Hyderabad, Sehwag has totalled only 27 in his three innings.

Sehwag has failed to fire in five consecutive Tests after getting a hundred in the opening game of the home series against England at Ahmedabad in November-December last year.

He was unable to score even a half-century in two home Tests against New Zealand.

During India’s last overseas tour, in Australia, Sehwag scored just 198 runs in eight innings.

Indian squad

1. M.S. Dhoni (Captain)
2. Shikhar Dhawan
3. Cheteshwar Pujara
4. Sachin Tendulkar
5. Virat Kohli
6. Ravindra Jadeja
7. Harbhajan Singh
8. R. Ashwin
9. Pragyan Ojha
10. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
11. Ajinkya Rahane
12. Ashok Dinda
13. Murali Vijay
14. Ishant Sharma